Contractor growth · Data
What plumbers, HVAC companies, and electricians actually charge for a service call
Every 'service call fee averages $75 to $150' figure circulating online traces back to a field-service-software marketing blog with no stated sample and no method. We did not want to add another one. So we read the actual pricing pages of 45 real plumbing, HVAC, and electrical companies ourselves, one at a time, and recorded exactly what each one says, in its own words, with a link to prove it.
WritingBy Landon LittleSeptember 26, 20269 min read
A real number nobody has published
The Bureau of Labor Statistics publishes median hourly wages for plumbers, electricians, and HVAC technicians, sourced and current. What it does not publish, and what nobody else has published with a real method either, is the billed service-call fee: the flat charge a homeowner pays for a technician to show up and diagnose a problem, before any repair begins.
Search for it and the same range appears everywhere: '$75 to $150, typically.' Trace any one of those pages back and it cites another blog, which cites another, until the trail runs out at a field-service-software company's marketing content with no disclosed sample size, no date range, and no method. We did not want to add another link to that chain. So instead of estimating, we read the actual pricing pages of 45 real companies ourselves, one at a time, and recorded exactly what each one says, in its own words, with the URL to check it.
Plumbing: $25 to $399
Nine companies stated a specific fee. The spread is the widest of the three trades, mostly because of one non-waivable emergency fee at the top end.
| Company | Fee | Term used | Waived if hired? | Region |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Innovative Home | $49 standard / $149 after-hours | service call fee | Often, for major repairs | TN |
| Hiller Plumbing, Heating, Cooling & Electrical | $79 | diagnostic fee | Yes | AL (multi-state) |
| Drain Pro Solutions | $75 | trip fee | Yes | NJ / PA |
| Perfect Flush PDX | $75 | dispatch fee | Not stated | OR |
| Da Vinci's Best Plumbing | $399 (emergency only) | emergency dispatch fee | No, explicitly non-waivable | OR |
| 1-Tom-Plumber | $85 | dispatch fee | Yes, if repair proceeds | GA (multi-state) |
| Michael & Son Services | $89 | dispatch fee | Conditional (drain-clog promo) | VA/MD/NC/SC |
| Rocket Plumbing | $25 or $35 (site disagrees) / $199 emergency | trip fee / dispatch fee | Not stated | IL |
| Call-Us Plumbing | $89 | service call | Yes | AZ |
Hiller shows the same pattern from a different angle: one page on its own site states an $79 diagnostic fee for a specific city; a separate page on the same domain states the company does not charge diagnostic fees at all. Both statements are live at the same time.
HVAC: $29 to $199
Fourteen companies stated a specific fee, the largest sample of the three trades, with a tighter range than plumbing.
| Company | Fee | Term used | Waived if hired? | Region |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Texas Discount Air | $29 | service call | Yes | TX |
| Home+ Air & Heat | $199 residential / $299 commercial | diagnostic | Yes, credited 100% | NY |
| Denver's Best HVAC | $79.95 | diagnostic | Yes | CO |
| 360 HVAC Pro | $89 | diagnostic fee | Yes | CO |
| UniColorado | $180 | diagnostic visit | Typically, if proceeding | CO |
| Rabbit Heating & Air | $60 standard / $175 evenings | trip & diagnostic | Yes | CO |
| Georgia Home Heating & Air | $59 flat | service call fee | Not stated | GA |
| Mauzy | $139 flat | service call fee | Not stated | CA |
| The Cooling Company | $79 | diagnostic | No, explicitly not credited | NV |
| We Care Air | $89 | diagnostic | Yes | NV |
| JC Heating & Cooling | $189 weekday / $225 nights-weekends | diagnosis-dispatch fee | Not explicit | PA |
| Buenos Aires AC & Heating | $45 | diagnostic fee | Not stated | NV |
| A+ HVAC and Refrigeration | $79 residential / $149 commercial | diagnostic fee | Yes, always | IL |
| Service Experts | $99 (promotional, off $189 standard) | diagnostic fee | Not stated | national chain |
Electrical: $39 to $275
Ten companies stated a specific fee. This trade produced the most inconsistent terminology of the three.
| Company | Fee | Term used | Waived if hired? | Region |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Blue Line Electric | $89 | diagnostic | Not explicit | TX |
| Innovative Electrical Contracting | $150 (emergency) | service call fee | Not stated | NJ |
| Alemar Electrical | $85–$125 | Service Call Fee | Not stated | AZ |
| Electric Company of Seattle | $275 (covers first hour) | Service Call / First Hour Charge | Not stated | WA |
| Damyans Electric | $49–$249 | Service Call Fee | Yes, may apply to total | MN |
| Three Rivers Electric | $195 flat | diagnostic | Not stated (no trip/drop/after-hours fee) | MN |
| Coffin Electric | $69 | service call fee | Ambiguous | IA |
| Dunbar's Electric | $85 | Service Call Fee | Only above a $2,500 job | CA |
| Mister Sparky (Charlotte) | $39 promo (regular up to $69) | service fee / dispatch fee | Not stated | NC |
| Black Rhino Electric | $100–$200 | service call fee | Not stated | UT |
Mister Sparky's own promotional page uses 'service fee' and 'dispatch fee' in the same sentence for the same charge. Mr. Electric's San Antonio location uses 'trip charge' and 'call-out fee' interchangeably on its own page. Across all three trades, we found no company that consistently distinguishes these four terms from one another; they function as synonyms, chosen by branding rather than by any industry convention.
The companies that charge nothing at all
Twelve companies across all three trades make a specific, stated policy of charging no service call, dispatch, or trip fee, and lead with it as a differentiator.
| Company | Trade | Region | Their own wording |
|---|---|---|---|
| Home Therapist | Plumbing | FL | “No dispatch fee. No trip charge.” |
| Zest Plumbing & Drain | Plumbing | AZ | “Charges no trip fee and no service call fee, ever” |
| Plumbing Masters | Plumbing | AZ | “No service call fees. No dispatch fees.” |
| Plumb Pros Inc | Plumbing | CO | “No diagnostic fees, no surprise line items” |
| Golden West Plumbing | Plumbing | CO | “No service call fees. No dispatch fees.” |
| Beacon Plumbing | Plumbing | WA | “Does not charge trip fees for service calls” |
| Elite Rooter | Plumbing | FL | “Free in-home estimate with no trip or dispatch fee” |
| Goettl | HVAC | AZ/NV/TX/CA | “$0 Diagnostic Fee For Everyone” |
| Home Therapist | HVAC | FL | Same zero-fee policy applied across trades |
| Standard | HVAC | NY | “No service call-out fees. Ever!” |
| Mr. Electric (San Antonio) | Electrical | TX | No trip charge for most service calls |
| Three Rivers Electric | Electrical | MN | No trip charge, drop fee, or after-hours surcharge (does charge a $195 diagnostic) |
What this means if you run one of these businesses
There is no single right number, and anyone telling you there is a $75-to-$150 industry standard is repeating a figure with no real source behind it. What the range does show is that the fee itself is a genuine pricing decision, not a fixed cost of doing business: real companies in the same trade, sometimes the same metro area, land anywhere from under $50 to nearly $400, and roughly a quarter of the companies we found charge nothing at all and market that choice directly.
The inconsistency inside individual companies' own websites is the more useful finding. If a homeowner reads two pages on your own site and gets two different answers about what a service call costs, that is not a pricing strategy, it is a website that has not been kept current. Whatever number you land on, it should say the same thing everywhere it appears.
Questions this post answers
- How much does a service call fee cost?
- Among the 33 companies we verified directly on their own websites, stated fees ranged from $25 (a plumber's standard daytime rate) to $399 (a non-waivable emergency dispatch fee). Most standard-hours fees clustered between $45 and $150 across plumbing, HVAC, and electrical. There is no single national average with a real published source; every 'average' figure we found elsewhere traced back to a marketing blog with no stated sample.
- Is a service call fee the same as a dispatch fee, trip charge, or diagnostic fee?
- Functionally, usually yes. We found all four terms used for the same thing: a flat charge for a technician to travel to the job and diagnose it, before any repair work. The terms are not applied consistently even within a single company. One plumber's own website uses 'diagnostic fee' on one page and states elsewhere on the same domain that they charge no diagnostic fee at all.
- Is a service call fee credited toward the repair if I hire the company?
- Often, but not always, and it varies by company rather than by trade. Most companies in our sample said the fee is waived or credited if the customer proceeds with the repair. A few state plainly that it is not credited, on the reasoning that crediting it encourages inflated repair quotes elsewhere. At least one company only credits the fee above a minimum job size. Read the specific company's own terms; do not assume either policy.
- Do all plumbers, electricians, and HVAC companies charge a service call fee?
- No. We verified 12 companies, across all three trades and multiple states, that explicitly advertise charging no service call, dispatch, or trip fee at all, as a stated policy and marketing differentiator.
Want this working for your business?
We build the automation your team keeps meaning to build, then hand it over running. Book a call and we will map the first working slice.
Building in this trade? See HVAC websites, or browse service areas.